Journalism staffs place in JEMKC awards

Katie Linsey, reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Journalism staffs attended the 2012 Journalism Educators of Metropolitan Kansas City awards ceremony at Johnson County Community College on Wednesday, April 25.

The awards are as follows:

The JagWire website, second place

The Jag yearbook, second place

Senior Sarah Darby, Opal Heatherly Writing Award for Seniors Scholarship and Michael Dunlap Excellence in Journalism Scholarship

Sophomore Jack Lopez, second place in Newspaper Critical Review

Senior Sarah Fulton, second place in Newspaper Editorial

Senior Jill Applegate, honorable mention in Newspaper Single-Page Design

Applegate and senior Adam Henderson, first place in Newspaper Infographic

Junior Hanna Torline, honorable mention in Newspaper Sports Story

Junior Miranda Snyder, honorable mention in Newspaper Sports Action

Junior Kelsey Floyd, first place in Newspaper News Photography

Snyder and senior Sarah Gonzales, third place in Newspaper Multimedia Online

Junior Ellen Bodine, honorable mention in Yearbook Clubs Design

Senior Allie Love, honorable mention in Yearbook Portrait Copy

Senior Carly Granato, third place in Yearbook Student Life design

Seniors Rachel Mills and Katherine Beck, first place in Yearbook Theme Presentation

Senior Lauren Shurley, honorable mention in Yearbook Overall Coverage in a Single Spread

Bodine, second place in Yearbook Sports Design

Mills, honorable mention in Headline Package Presentation

Granato, second place in Yearbook Activities Photography

Senior Austin Becker, second place in Yearbook Sports Reaction

The JagWire website and newspaper were also named All-Kansas by the Kansas Scholastic Press Association. The newspaper was one of six 5A papers in the state to be recognized and the website was one of two in the state to earn the honor. A total of 48 schools submitted publications and 22 earned the honor.

“We’ve had a strong showing at every competition we’ve been at this year. We have a lot of talented journalists and a lot of students who are passionate about journalism,” Darby said. “I’m so proud all of our hard work has paid off.”

(Visited 10 times, 1 visits today)